Loyalty Points…

OK to start with I need to apologize for my lack of posts in the last 2 days…at this early stage of a blog it would be pretty easy to just let it fade, but I will endeavor to remain LOYAL to the blog (and any readers I may have attracted for whatever reason)…that rather shaky link brings me to a topic which I have been musing over during the last couple of days, loyalty if you had not already guessed!

Unfortunately this is nothing to do with Tesco clubcard vouchers or even nectar points, but rather concerning work and relationships. The work issue is pretty easy to clear up-companies very rarely give a hoots about their employees regardless of how much effort or time they put into their jobs; I’ve lost track of the number of promotions I have been offered to me at work and then told that I cannot apply for because of blah blah blah. Not that I intend to stay with M&S long term, but I started off as a great ambassador for the company and enjoyed the menial little job I had-now however you can probably guess my enthusiasm has pretty much dried up! At the other end of the spectrum, my co-worker (who has been with the company for 26 years) recently received her first ever written warning. What for? Because she had several severe medical issues in a row, and because they were separate ones rather than all stemming from the same cause it means she misses out on any bonuses (ha) and potentially more if she reaches 30 years of employment-her devastated reaction was more one of disbelief and embarrassment.

In terms of friends, well the issues are much more complex but as I have already written a decent chunk on M&S employment policies I will try and be brief! It is not nice to be ditched when a friend gets a new partner but this seems to be the rule of life and I can get over it…GIVEN that said friend makes some effort of any form. I guessed that this person would probably cut down 95% of any contact with me, despite proclaiming that changing the distance between us from 2hrs to 30mins would bring us closer together, but it still hurts and I feel that I am witnessing somebody throw away their hopes and dreams for the sake of being in a relationship. I am not one to judge and neither can I comment on a relationship I have not witnessed, but I can’t help thinking that there is plenty of time to spend weekends in bed and not so much to complete a masters degree. Second loyalty issue is more petty of me but also more annoying. I respect people’s wishes; if they don’t want to speak about big, mysterious issues then fine, if you can’t bare for me to say the name of certain people or places then I won’t and I understand that you probably won’t enjoy a party weekend away in said place. But please don’t then swan off there for weekends away after refusing my suggestions for the best part of 5 years.

Ugh the latter part of that turned out to be alot more ranty than I had intended, but my conclusion is the same…if you don’t hand out any loyalty then you should not expect it back, so witness me acting like a spoilt brat at work and socially 🙂

PS To lighten the mood here is a song which me and my mum spontaneously burst out singing about an hour ago…http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iC4ytWa28qA

Leave a Reply

