Car hunt 2021 update: October

Back in April I thought I was closing in on a new car, having narrowed (ha) things down to 15 or so models, but with a closer eye on five or six of them I thought I had some time to do some more research and perhaps go on a few test drives before making a decision. Oh how wrong I was…

In the subsequent six months, the UK (and global) car market has gone crazy, with demand for new cars rapidly outstripping supply thanks to a global shortage of semi-conductors (something you’ll find in most modern consumer goods, but particularly in cars!). Fewer new cars available, plus increased disposable income and a shift away from public transport mean that used car prices have increased significantly, in some cases I’ve observed by nearly a 50% increase in some models.

SUVs generally have strong residual figures anyway, so it makes sense that their values would also increase substantially too. My need for a new car has also increased as well, with more issues appearing in my X5 plus a looming MOT and the extension of the London ULEZ which will restrict my ability to drive too much further into London than where I currently am – it feels I’ve left it a little late all things considered, but I have been doing some serious thinking about my options.

Even since I’ve started writing this post, there has been a fuel supply crisis in the UK and as a result renewed focus has come onto fuel efficiency and, oddly enough, fuel tank size. I still reckon I’ll get a diesel, but something more economical would be nice.

The obvious choice

Buying another BMW X5 would be an obvious route – I’ve always been a fan of BMW’s full-sized SUV and the third generation car is a strong option that ticks a lot of my boxes. In this shortlist it’s the only full-sized SUV, offering imposing styling, good practicality, a raised seating position and the strongest performance in its most popular version, the 30d. Seven seater versions aren’t uncommon either, which is a nice little bonus despite the seats themselves being tiny.

But being launched in 2013 means it is a little dated in some areas, and prices are higher compared to smaller models meaning that I’d need around £27k for a 2015 model in M-Sport trim with reasonable mileage. Technology would be on the old side too, with a small LCD screen in the instrument cluster on most versions and Apple CarPlay only being introduced in 2017. I think I’d probably be able to make that sacrifice but paying that amount of money for a car that is nearly 7 years old already makes me nervous given recent experiences with my own X5.

The safe choice

Volvo has a reputation for focusing on safety, and indeed its latest crop of models retain this as a strong selling feature, even for me. The XC60 is one of their most popular models, with standard features including LED headlights and lane-keep assist, with relatively common options including adaptive cruise control and blind-spot monitoring. Inside, it’s the only car on my list to get a fully digital instrument cluster and Apple CarPlay is available on all models (even if you have to pay extra to get it enabled if the original owner didn’t). Introduced in late 2017, it’s also a thoroughly modern car that will stand the test of time for some years to come, with petrol engines also being reasonably common and a potential option.

My biggest gripe with the XC60 is that it’s incredibly car-like, sitting lower than almost every other option I’ve been considering, and with a smaller boot than everything else, too. The Volvo brand is also not quite up there with other luxury marques, and this is made worse by the fact that my budget will only really stretch to early Momentum models which look dull in comparison to other trims. It’s a shame that the larger XC90 is still so expensive, otherwise it probably would be in this space.

The sensible choice

If the BMW X5 is too expensive and old, then why not save myself a chunk of change and go for its little brother? The second generation X3 shares many of the positive qualities with the larger X5, with strong brand image, large boot and slick infotainment system – 2016/17 versions even come with Apple CarPlay. This version is roughly the same size as my X5, and 20d versions can return a realistic 45mpg while 30d versions still nudge 40mpg and get from 0-60mph in less than six seconds.

But this is a car launched back in 2010, so it’s a little too long in the tooth now, and the styling has never been my favourite. Annoyingly most of these smaller SUVs end up with a much more mundane image than their larger siblings, and the X3 is a prime example of this. Basic versions of the car are very affordable, but pushing for a version with the better infotainment system and more powerful engine brings prices to within a few grand of the X5, which is tough to justify.

The dubious choice

Land Rover know how to produce a desirable car, and the Discovery Sport is no exception; sharp looks and a practical interior make it a popular choice with buyers, and the model surprisingly affordable to buy. It’s possible to buy a 2018 model for less than £25k if you don’t mind missing out on some equipment, or choosing something slightly older in HSE trim means a good level of equipment including a panoramic sunroof. Almost all versions come with seven seats too, and the seating position is higher than in similarly sized vehicles meaning it feels more substantial.

However, the Discovery Sport is by no means perfect and there are a lot of issues that owners regularly flag. Minor ones include the fact that good value SE Tech trim makes do with halogen headlights, while the standard infotainment system is rubbish. Fuel economy is also poor compared to similar vehicles and the gearbox a bit sluggish, so you get the worst of both worlds compared. Most worrying, though, are the reliability issues, with general electrical gremlins being common, and DPF failure in diesel versions common for those who tend to do short journeys. These make me very wary of buying a Discovery Sport, despite it being widely available and relatively affordable.

The wildcard

I’ve decided to keep the last potential choice a little open; the strongest candidate is the Jaguar F-PACE, a good all round vehicle but one that lacks a little spark in lower trim levels and sits low on the road – it does however improve on the reliability of its Discovery Sport cousin. Other medium sized options like the Audi Q5 and Mercedes GLC are a bit bland, while the newer generation X3 is still expensive in all but the most basic versions.

Larger SUVs have become decidedly less affordable in the past few months, so the only semi-affordable option other than the X5 is the Mercedes GLE, which I’m not a massive fan of in terms of looks, plus most used examples are the slower 250d. The Volvo XC90 is a great all-rounder but even the most basic Momentum versions have shot up in price massively and very rarely do they drop below £28k. The Audi Q7 and Range Rover Sport remain as out of reach as they always have been, which is also a shame because either would be among my favourite options.

Footnote

Hopefully it’s not too evident in reading this post, but I’ve written it over the course of at least two weeks so in my mind it feels a little disjointed. Used car prices have continued to climb and my self-set deadline for buying something new has already passed; this weekend just gone I drove down to the city of Bath in the South West of England and while my X5 performed admirably, I still spent a fair proportion of the journey concerned about the hideous levels of black smoke which appeared in my rear view mirror on acceleration.

While this has seemed to somewhat sort itself out, it’s clear that there are some potentially expensive bills coming my way – at the very least I need to get the car through its MOT and have an oil service, but with a small leak and endless possibilities that could be causing the smokey exhaust I am getting nervous about driving the car, a situation I never wanted to be in. The ULEZ expansion is also only a few weeks away, which will make trips to visit friends, IKEA and

There’s also the issue of buying a property, as spending the best part of £30k to buy a depreciating asset is not going to help me choose somewhere to live. Buying any SUV is not the most sensible thing at this stage, but particularly these larger ones seems a little unwise – with this more sensible hat on it makes sense to go for something cheaper and then at a later date buy something I actually like, but then I see an X3 or GLC and I’m reminded at how much I’d dislike driving one…

Leave a comment